Union Workers Credit Services Scam

If you receive a letter like this, beware! They simply take your 37 dollar “membership fee” and you’ll probably hear nothing ever again. I received this letter yesterday, and I live in the Pensacola, FL area.

This letter looks legit.. they even have a website: http://www.unionworkerscredit.com

But the fact that they asked for no information other than my signature raised a few flags. Their website is also littered with ads, not very professional.

Here is the letter. Click to enlarge:

Union Workers
Credit Services
1327 Empire Central
Suite 130
Dallas, TX 75247

Credit Limit: $10,000 for: (my name)
Member Status: PLATINUM
Classification: PRE-APPROVED
Expires: 04/01/09
Interest Rate: 5% APR
Credit Provider: Union Workers Credit Services
Address: (my address)
Bank Affiliation: None
Service #: (number)
Approval #: (number)
*Applicable Law: Florida

CONGRATULATIONS (name)!

It’s nice to inform you that you have been identified and PRE-APPROVED for a PLATINUM CARD Membership from Union Workers Credit Services with a GUARANTEED $10,000.00 credit limit valid exclusively toward all credit purchases from credit provider!

You don’t have to worry if you have been denied access to a VISA or MasterCard. The UWCS Platinum Card Membership offers many benefits including a LOW, LOW interest rate of 5% APR all because you are PRE-APPROVED.

Full details of your membership and its exclusive benfits will be included with your new Platinum Card. Your satisfaction is assured by a 60 day refund of money guarantee!

This is a limited time offer and all deadlines are final, so act today. Failure to do so may result in your loss of your PRE-APPROVED status. Please enclose your annual membership fee of $37 by check or money order along with the attached Platinum Card Activation Form by the deadline shown below.

note: the $37 is fully refundable with your first purchase using your $10,000.00 credit limit.

(in smaller print):
YOU HAVE BEEN APPROVED FOR THIS PLATINUM CARD MEMBERSHIP OFFER BECAUSE YOU SATISFIED CERTAIN CONSUMER CRITERIA. VISA AND MASTERCARD ARE REGISTERED TRADEMARKS OF VISA INTERNATIONAL AND MASTERCARD, INC. RESPECTIVELY, AND ARE UNAFFILIATED WITH THIS OFFER OR UWCS. CREDIT AMOUNT REFERENCED HEREIN SHALL NOT BE CONSTRUED TO FUNCTION AS ANY TYPE OF MULTI-PURPOSE CREDIT CARD AND IS EXCLUSIVELY APPLICABLE FOR CREDIT PURCHASES FROM UWCS. ADDITIONAL CREDIT MAY BE GRANTED IN THE FUTURE AT CREDIT PROVIDERS SOLE DISCRETION. FAILURE TO RESPOND BY EXPIRATION DATE WILL RESULT IN TERMINATION OF YOUR ELIGIBILITY.

 

23 comments ↓

#1 Gina Moreno on 05.03.09 at 3:08 pm

I recieved the same letter. There was no phone number to call, so that’s what raised the flag. Good looking out,

Thanks Gina

#2 stupidazzgirl on 06.02.09 at 8:41 pm

i sent them the $37 and now i feel really stupid. i guess there’s nothing i can do

#3 Larry on 06.18.09 at 12:38 pm

I got the same letter on June 13th 2009. That is why it is so important to do some research from what ever the companies are. This is totally scam and that is why I’ve check under google search to see if others have some complaints. I hate scammer.

#4 Ray on 06.29.09 at 12:13 pm

I got the letter in june & a gut feeling said check it out thanx for our collective effort on helping others show this is a scam.

#5 KHIN on 07.18.09 at 7:22 pm

I also got the letter july and that is truly scam because of website & phone number, address are false.

#6 william on 08.14.09 at 3:04 pm

I to recieved a letter like this today,8-14-09. I thought it was probably a scam, so I will put it along with all my other ( fan-club ) mail, and use it this winter to start a fire in my fire place with. Thanks for the info. William

#7 annamaria on 08.25.09 at 3:12 pm

i feel so lucky googled and did’t fall for this!

#8 annamaria on 08.25.09 at 3:20 pm

got this letter today and it looked real good and said to myself there’s a catch, so i googled and i’m glad i did,i feel so lucky i googled and did’t fall for this scam!
am

#9 Deegoddess on 08.29.09 at 12:16 pm

Thanks for the heads up, I received this same exact letter on 08/29/09 and was kind of curious so I decided to google it, I knew it was some kind of scam asking for $37.00

#10 Omar on 09.12.09 at 9:58 pm

I fell fucking. Stupid

#11 Sarah on 09.29.09 at 1:40 pm

Yes, the no phone # and “for credit purchases from UWCS” was quite a bit off. How can this be tracked back to scammers, and what is the penalty? Seek and we shall see. Sorry for those who sent the money.

#12 Nick on 10.06.09 at 11:45 am

I just got this letter today 10/06/09 and I immediately knew it was bogus. I’ve had some bad luck staying current on my bills due to the economy and since my credit is worse than 95% of all other people in the United States, me getting a $10,000 credit line for actual credit is literally impossible. I would have better chances of buying $37 in powerball lotto tickets and winning 37 days in a row to pay for all my expenses. Does this company even report to a single credit bureau? If you lost the $37 it kinda sucks, but the one to really watch out for that actually got me is First Premier Bank. They offer a $250 credit line and on your first bill they charge you a $179 finance charge for extending you the credit. Plus monthly and annual fees that will put you well over your credit limit right away if you don’t pay. Then there’s the over the limit fees, high interest rates, the list goes on and on. Pretty good if you don’t mind paying triple digit interest rates (including fees). The way these companies operate they should be the ones owing you money. This type of stuff has gotta be illegal and since none of the important information from Union Workers Credit Services website is on the letter and they are unreachable by phone this is clearly construed as FRAUD according to the attorney I consulted.

#13 Claudia on 10.15.09 at 8:48 pm

Thank god I looked it up. It looked to good to be true till I realized there is no phone number on the letterhead and the back of the letter doesn’t have the legally required waivers.

Glad I looked on the web and saw all your comments before I sent them any money.

#14 Love&Lil on 10.16.09 at 4:44 pm

Thanks for the collective heads up. I just think it’s pretty cool that we all think enough to do our research. Does anyone want to start an anti-scam crime fighters superhero organization! (serious!)We could have outfits and everything. I got my letter today 10/16/2009, and was actually praying as i opened it on the toilet for God to lead me in my decision on what to do with a $10, 000 credit limit especially since me and my girl together have like a -3 credit score. So it was pretty awesome that he lead me to the computer to check it out before I sent them my little $37. That even more uncool because I could be using that money to pay for my Papa johns pizza when it comes. Seriously ..Thanks my superhero friends.

#15 Bill on 12.01.09 at 12:13 pm

Glad I looked this up and also very happy people like you take the time to post these FRAUD things. Some how if we pull together and enough bad word gets out we can put these people out of business. At least until the next one pops up. As the old saying goes BUYER BEWARE. Again thanks all.

#16 susan on 12.22.09 at 12:43 pm

i guess they are still scam-ing people. i just got my letter and i am so glad i looked to see if they were on the up and up. i am a single mom and a foster mom so every penny counts. thanks for all the info it really helped. FILE 13 IT IS.

#17 joe on 12.31.09 at 2:57 am

i just got the letter today 12/30/09

thanx to sites like yours it saved me money..
dont you have to be in a union to use union services???

i found more sites reporting this scam than ones prasing them

thank you for posting about them

joe

#18 joe on 12.31.09 at 2:59 am

missouri is the new target for them

#19 Jasmine on 01.03.10 at 10:47 am

Those assholes got me for $37.00. I sould of known It was a scam. I Send my last $37.00 12/23/2009. Why was i so stupid? Union Workers Credit Union got me good. I really was waiting what was I thinking. I went to there web also and noticed there was no number. The web did look very bogus. I search on google website everyday. 37.00 from 100 people is 3,700 dam lot of free money. One question I do want to ask is. How many people are in debt with Capital One ?

#20 JOHN on 01.04.10 at 6:25 pm

I got mine today 01/04/2010 to good to be true. Never ever pay money for credit card.. If your PRE-APPROVED you would not be asked for money up front. Also offer set to expire 01/20/2010, I never applied nor did i ever ask for anything. SHRED IT AND FORGET IT!!!!!!!!

#21 mongo on 01.11.10 at 8:35 pm

got the same on 1/11/10 looked up the web site & saw this page & decided to check it out.thank you for posting all this you save us a lot of trouble.

#22 SERVPROsteve on 02.02.10 at 5:37 pm

Praise God!! I didnt send in the money. I am in the process of clearing up my old stuff & thought it would be a good start to do things rite! I Googled it & saw all this bad info. fOR THOSE OF YOU WHO LOST $$$ SORRY TO HERE THAT, BUT CARMA IS A BITCH

#23 CuriousGirl on 02.26.10 at 11:22 pm

I got this letter today. I am very skeptical about anyone telling me I’ve won, received, or being preapproved for anything as I very seldom apply for any credit. I started using the term, “If I don’t have the cash, I don’t need it.” I’m glad to know there are posting as these to help us with phone and mail deceptions. Thanks! Those of you who sent money, always remember to check things out before sending money. If you didn’t apply or never heard of the company, that should raise an eyebrow. Be safe!

Leave a Comment